Happy New Year!!

I simply cannot believe that it’s already 2021. I know I’ve said this probably a million times already, but 2020 feels like it lasted both a week and 10 years at the same time, so I have no idea how to feel about the fact that it’s over.

While I’m sure everyone can agree that 2020 was… not a good year overall, I want to try to be more positive going into the new year, so today I’m here to recap the highlights of my 2020 and focus on the things that brought me joy this year!! I’m also going to be sharing a few of my goals for the new year in the different aspects of my life.

(I would highly recommend reading this post on the actual site instead of AMP or the WP reader, because the formatting might get messed up for a few things I included! Also: I know I said that my 2020 reading recap post was supposed to come before this one, but I decided it would make more sense to wrap-up the entire year first and then specifically talk about my reading, so my reading recap is coming out next week!)

image

3

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

(some of my favorite photos i took in 2020!! you might recognize a few from previous monthly wrap-ups 😅

2020 HIGHLIGHTS:

  • Daily life in 2020 is just all a blur, so I’m probably going to leave many things out of this section because I just don’t remember them!! But the first thing that comes to mind as a highlight for daily life is learning to appreciate the small things: with all the time spent at home, I really got the chance to reflect and take in the small things that bring me joy.
  • I was also able to spend a lot more time with my family in 2021 and I’m so grateful for them!!
  • I discovered two new shows that instantly became new favorites: ATLA and The Good Place, and I had so much fun watching them and screaming about them with others!!
  •  I listened to a ton of music and discovered so many amazing new artists and songs, although my favorite artists of the year were definitely Taylor Swift, Lorde, Conan Gray, Billie Eilish, BLACKPINK, and ITZY.

✧ ♡ ✧ ♡ ✧

GOALS FOR 2021:

  • Try to get out for a short walk every day: During online school, I was terrible at actually getting outside and taking a break from my screen, so I really need to take walks more often!
  • Don’t look at your phone first thing in the morning: I checked my notifications first thing in the morning so many times in 2020, and it’s a habit I really hate, so let’s hope that setting this goal helps me get rid of it…
  • Watch more movies: I found a few new favorite TV shows in 2020, but I don’t really remember watching any specific movies that stood out to me! I’m making this goal so I can change that, especially because I love film and need to find some favorite movies. (Send me all your movie recs in the comments!)
  • Get back into journaling and try to journal once a week: I journaled a lot at the beginning of 2020, but then I stopped because I kept trying to make my spreads *perfect* and it was getting to be really stressful! That’s why I want to journal as a form of self care in 2021 without worrying about perfection.
  • Keep up with your habit tracker: Even though I have a habit tracker page on Notion and it’s really easy for me to just check boxes every day, I’m still so bad at filling it out!!

image

4

2020 HIGHLIGHTS:

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset
some of my favorite books of the year!!
  • Before 2020, I rarely read and picked up books by marginalized authors, simply because I didn’t know they existed. Joining the book blogging community changed everything. For the first time, I started reading more diversely and being able to read books that represent me!
  • I was able to read so many wonderful books this year, such as Picture Us In the Light, When the Moon Was Ours and The Gilded Wolves!! I’m so glad to have read them this year and can’t wait to continue to recommend them for years to come. ❤
  • In 2020, I read 78 books in total which is a really big number for me!! Not only that, but I enjoyed most of the books I read, which I’m so happy about. (However, just a reminder that reading is not a competition and the number of books you read doesn’t define you!!)

✧ ♡ ✧ ♡ ✧

GOALS FOR 2021:

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset
 from my bookstagram
  • Read 62 books: My reading goal for 2020 was 60 books, and even though I finished the year with 78 books, I’m only aiming for 62 this year because I don’t want to stress myself out about my reading goal.
  • Write more reviews: I really enjoy writing reviews, but I barely wrote any last year!! I want to try to change that this year and write the more often, even if they have to be mini ones.
  • Read more diversely, in every way: Reading diversely has so many meanings, and I want to focus on all of them! First, I really want to prioritize + boost books by marginalized authors and pick up more books that represent me. I also really want to read books out of my comfort zone that I wouldn’t normally pick up, such as adult fantasies or classics.
  • Email publishers for physical/digital ARCs of releases I’m very excited for: I’ve only gotten a few ARCs before through Netgalley, so I’m very intimidated about emailing publishers, but I want to try at least a few times for 2021 releases I’m excited for!!
  • Read more middle grade: As I’ve talked about before, middle grade is one of my favorite genres because of how heartwarming and comforting it is to read. I only read 11 middle grade books in 2020, so I definitely want to pick up more this year!
  • Start annotating books: I absolutely love the idea of highlighting, tabbing, and making notes in books, especially ones that are meaningful to you, so I can’t wait to start annotating books in 2021.

image

5

2020 HIGHLIGHTS:

  • I took part in a writing competition in January 2021 and I had so much fun writing the short stories for it. 💕
  • I know this is probably not a lot for most people, but I wrote a little over 10k words of fiction in November during NaNoWriMo, and that’s probably the greatest amount I’ve ever written in a month!!
  • I came up with an idea for a fantasy WIP that I actually really love, and I managed to write and plan very briefly for it!
  • Most of them don’t make sense because you would need to read the entire story to understand them, but you can read 3 short snippets I’m proud of below:

Maybe she’s not alone after all. She chokes and squeezes the soldier tight. Red impressions mark her hands as the olive green plastic sears into her skin. Closing her eyes, she clutches the figurine until all she can remember are the memories — the good ones. She savors them, the golden reminiscences washing over her slowly. She smiles. And just for a moment, it’s all okay.

“This isn’t our end!” It’s a vow. She’s realized something today: endings are circular. Circular, just like this sphere she created with nothing but countless hours of hard work and love. Circular, because no matter what, one ending will open another beginning. So it’s true: today is an end. But it’s also the beginning of something new, something real, something better.

Screen Shot 2020-12-29 at 11.40.59 AM

✧ ♡ ✧ ♡ ✧

GOALS FOR 2021:

  • Write more often and don’t be so critical of your writing: My biggest struggle with writing is that I feel excited about new projects for a few weeks, and then when I come back to them, I get overly critical and don’t feel motivated anymore. 😭 I really want to change this in the new year, and just write without pressuring myself.
  • Write at least 6 short stories: I’m hoping that this goal will help me actually write more, especially because short stories are so fun to write!!
  • Write more poetry: I wrote a lot of poetry in 2019 and at the beginning of 2020, and then I just… stopped because I have a lot of trouble liking my poetry. But I really want to experiment with poetry this year and stop judging my writing!!
  • Continue working on my fantasy WIP: To be honest, I’m only setting this goal so that I don’t completely abandon my fantasy WIP in 2021! I’m very intimidated by it, but I hope I can make more progress this year.

image

6

(The graphic says blogging, I really mean all of my online platforms! I may or may not have been too lazy to create a new graphic 😳)

2020 HIGHLIGHTS:

giphy
me @ all of you 💖
  • First of all, I started this blog in 2020, and it’s been one of the best decisions in my life!! I’m so happy to have a creative outlet and to have joined this amazing community. Blogging has affected me positively in so many ways, and I love it so much!!
  • Speaking of the community, I met so many amazing people online through my blog and Instagram, and I’m eternally grateful to have made some close friends!! 🥺 Before I joined the online book community, I had no idea how welcoming, kind and supportive everyone is, and I’m so glad to be a part of it.
  • I also started a YouTube channel and… somehow… hit over 1k subscribers?? I had no idea that would happen, considering the fact that I started it on a whim and my earlier videos were so embarrassing, so thank you so much!! I love creating videos and will hopefully make more soon.

✧ ♡ ✧ ♡ ✧

GOALS FOR 2021:

  • Interact more with others’ posts and make meaningful comments: This goal applies for blogging and all my social media platforms, because I want to actually interact with others instead of mindlessly scrolling!!
  • Hit 500 blog and Instagram followers? I don’t want to focus on stats too much in 2021, but it would be amazing (and surreal) if I hit 500 on my blog and Instagram. 🥺
  • Publish at least one review on the blog every month: This ties into my previous goal of trying to write more reviews, and I’m hoping it’ll encourage me to get back into regularly writing reviews.
  • Revive Youtube Channel and create videos you actually enjoy without worrying about stats: I haven’t posted a youtube video for so long, and I think it’s mostly because they take so long to edit, but I hope I can post a few in 2021. I also obsessed over stats way too much last year, and really want to change that.

Overall, 2020 was a whirlwind, and so many terrible things happened!! (Please take a moment to look at this carrd of issues around the world and where you can donate/sign petitions to help make 2021 a better year than 2020!) But I’m so grateful for how privileged I was to stay safe and happy during the year. I’d also just like to say a huge thank you to everyone in the blogging community again!! You have no idea how grateful I am for you, thank you for making my 2020 better. 🥺🥰

Let's Chat

what were some of your favorite moments of 2020? do you have any special goals for 2021? wishing you the most beautiful new year 💖

Signoff

Instagram | YouTube Channel | Goodreads | Ko-Fi


60 responses to “Saying Goodbye to 2020 + My Goals For The New Year!”

  1. Jennifer Avatar

    You have so much to be proud of in the past year 🤗 Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch is a really cute middle grade book is you haven’t read it already! Also congrats on your NaNoWrMo!! It’s such a feat, I’m always so impressed by anyone committing to it and working so hard on it. 🎉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      thank you!! 🥺 that one is on my tbr and i’ve heard such amazing things about it, i can’t wait to read it!! and ahh thank you so much 😭💕

      Liked by 1 person

  2. saniya | sunnysidereviews Avatar

    I love how you included non bookish goals as well! And I completely agree with you about middle grade novels, I miss that wholesome feel they give. Such a beautiful post! And Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      thank you!! 💖and yess, middle grade novels are so wholesome! happy new year to you as well 🥰

      Liked by 1 person

  3. 2020 End of Year Survey – Yearly wrap up: past & future goals, best of best in books and blogging, and more! – Bellerose Reads 💖 Avatar

    […] book blogs: White Rose Stories / Mouse That Reads / Forever and Everly / Marshmallow Harmonies / Starlight Strands / Drizzle and Hurricane Books / The Quite Pond / Shut Up, Shealea / Word WondersFavorite […]

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Aditi Avatar

    YES ASH! Happy new year love!! I hope you have the most amazing 2021, and I’m so grateful that you’ve been a part of my blogging journey. This entire post is the most beautiful thing ever 💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      thank you so much, aditi!! happy new year to you too 🥰🥰 i’m so grateful that you’ve been a part of my journey as well, ilu 😭💕

      Like

  5. Books Teacup and Reviews Avatar

    Amazing post! I don’t have any goals this year. I’m going to try to wake up early this year.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      thank you!! and ahh, good luck! 💕

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Rhea @ Ink, Stars & Dreams Avatar
    Rhea @ Ink, Stars & Dreams

    ahh ash congrats on achieving so much in 2020! 💖 your blog is the most beautiful thing and i’m so glad i found it!! all those photos are a blessing for my eyes 🥺 and WOW your writing is so awesome!! Have the loveliest year, can’t wait to see more awesome posts like this in the new year 🤎💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      AHH thank you so much, rhea!! this comment made my day 🥺🥺 happy new year 🥰

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Dezzy @ The Thoughtful Voice Avatar

    wonderful post, Ash! i really enjoyed reading about your 2020 (love your pictures, btw 😍 such beautiful views!) and seeing what you want your 2021 to look like 😊 i also watched ATLA in 2020 and it instantly became one of my favorite shows of all time, it was definitely a highlight of my year 🤩 it’s an amazinggg show :’) and Taylor Swift + Conan Gray were also some of my favorite artists last year!! i constantly have folklore, evermore, lover + sunset season, kid krow on repeat haha

    congrats on reading 78 books in 2020, that is absolutely amazing 🤩 i’m so happy to hear that you found many wonderful, diverse reads after joining the book blogging community (i first joined in 2018 and that’s when i started reading more diversely, too, so i relate!). and congrats on all of your accomplishments for your blog, Youtube, and Instagram! here’s to more growth in 2021 🎉

    also, i just wanted to recommend one of my favorite middle grade books (it’s queer!) – Ivy Aberdeen’s Letter to the World :)) it’s a very heartwarming and emotional read 💞

    happy new year!! i hope that your 2021 will be filled with amazing books and fun memories 💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      thank you so much, dezzy!! 🥺🥺 YES atla is so good, i’m so glad we were both able to watch and enjoy it!! and omg i agree, those four albums are absolutely perfect 😭thank you, and i’m so glad you can relate about discovering amazing diverse reads!! ahh you’re too sweet 💕

      and thank you so much for the rec, that one’s on my tbr and i cannot wait to get to it!! (i’ve never read any queer mg so i’m so glad that i found out about it 🥺) happy new year, i hope you you’re doing well!!! have a beautiful 2021 🥰💖

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Dezzy @ The Thoughtful Voice Avatar

        aw thank you so much Ash 😊💞 you’re even sweeter hehe. i’m so excited for you to read Ivy Aberdeen, it’s a fantastic book! and speaking of queer MG, another one i’d recommend is The Best at It by Maulik Pancholy – this was also a very heartwarming read for me 🥺

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

          🥺💖💖 and omg thank you for the rec, i added it to my tbr!!

          Liked by 1 person

  8. tasya @ the literary huntress Avatar

    Happy new year! I agree that daily life in 2020 was a blur, but I also got more family time and appreciate the small things in life more ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      happy new year too you as well!! 🥰🥰 and ahh i’m so glad you can agree!

      Like

  9. infinitelyadaydreamer Avatar

    I can’t wait to see what you’ll do this year. I can already see that you’re taking it by the reigns! Your story snippets are powerful, mesmerising and definitely deserve to be a part of their own book. Reading your post reminded me of a twenty thousand word story I wrote for the nanowrimo challenge back in 2018. I’d sit in homeroom every day in eighth grade and let the words pour out. I miss those days.

    Congratulations on a successful youtube channel, by the way! I started one back in 2018 but my videos were fairly amateur and I was never quite pleased with the outcome of my work. With blogging, I have much more control over the end product and I prefer things that way.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      thank you so, so much, maryam!! 💖and ahh 20k words is so amazing, i’m sure your story was wonderful! and thank you again, i agree with you about having much more control over the end product with blogging compared you youtube :(( happy new year!! 🥰

      Like

  10. katie @ whispering pages Avatar

    i’m so glad you had some highlights of 2020!! AH ATLA IS SO GOOD MY OBSESSION OVER IT IS UNHEALTHY (but i love the gaang so much 🥺). i also love your writing snippets so much alaskjdlk i NEED MORE. i hope 2021 is treating you well! ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      thank you!! and YES I LOVE THE GAANG 🥺🥺 omg i’m so happy you like them 😭happy new year, i hope you have a beautiful 2021!! 💖

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Belle Avatar

    Happy new year, Ash! Picture Us in the Light – yes. I ordered two copies of the book in December to give as Christmas gifts to my friends hahahaha. And ATLA and The Good Place 👏!
    It’s awesome that you had a lot of good moments to appreciate last year, and I love those shots you captured! I hope you’re able to achieve everything you set for yourself this year and that the year is easier on you in general 🙂. I’m excited to see what you create this year!
    (- I’ve been following you on instagram for a while now and am kicking myself for not checking out your blog sooner! I’ve been binging your posts because I love your reading / watching(?) taste and writing voice so much 😅. It’s seriously so nice seeing someone appreciate Picture Us in the Light hahaha.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      happy new year, belle!! 💖💖and OMG i’m so happy to have found another picture us in the light fan, i barely know anyone who’s read it 😭and thank you so much!! i hope you have a beautiful year as well 🥰 (also ahh this made my day, thank you!! 🥺i’m so honored you like my blog! and yesss picture us in the light needs more appreciation!)

      Liked by 1 person

  12. May @ Forever and Everly Avatar

    omg i love that we have the exact same goal of reading diversely with both representation/author and genre/age group 😭😭 good luck on reading more adult fantasies!! they were definitely intimidating to me at first, but i’m warming up to them and really enjoying them 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. May @ Forever and Everly Avatar

      omg half my comment was erased 😭 but i was just saying that i love your goals — and i would steal the “stop looking at your phone first thing in the morning” one if i believed i could actually do it lmao! — and i hope you manage to achieve them all!! and YES to wtmwo and picture us in the light being two faves of the year, i feel VINDICATED

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

        ahh yes!! and thank you, i can’t wait to start reading more adult fantasies 💖(i really want to get to the poppy war especially 😭) and lmao i… haven’t been doing great so far because it’s such a hard habit to break 😅 but thank you 🥰🥰 and YES i’m so happy you recommended them to me bc ur taste is immaculate 😌

        Liked by 1 person

  13. ahaana @ Windows to Worlds Avatar

    happy new year ash!! i’ve definitely also gotten exposed to more diverse reads, and met so many amazing people in this wonderful community!! i haven’t watched ATLA yet, but hopefully, i find the time to soon!! those pictures in the beginning are all so gorgeous ahh!!! your little writing snippets always leave me wanting more!! i can’t wait to read your fantasy WIP once you’re done with it (if you decide to share!!) i hope you’re having a great 2021 (so far!) ❤❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      happy new year, ahaana!! and yes, i’m so glad you’ve found some amazing reads too 🥰 i hope you love atla when you watch it! and thank you, so much, that means a lot 🥺 hope you’re having a great 2021 as well 💕

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Margaret @ Weird Zeal Avatar

    I loved reading about all your highlights from 2020, Ash! Ahhh The Good Place and ATLA are two of my favorite shows as well—I’m SO glad you loved them too ☺

    I started emailing publishers about ARCs for the first time in 2020, and while it was definitely intimidating, it generally went well! I wish you luck with that goal (and all of your goals!) ☺

    I’m so glad you had some lovely moments to look back on from 2020, and I wish you many more good things to come in 2021 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      thank you so much, margaret!! and yes, those shows are so good 😭😭 i’m so glad emailing publishers went well for you, and thank you ahh 🥺💕 i hope you have the most beautiful 2021 as well, happy new year 🥰

      Like

  15. cherelle @ a bolt out of the book Avatar

    Ooh hi Ash! I just found your blog, it’s lovely and welcome back from your hiatus yeah! 🤩 Thanks so much for sharing… I was also fortunate enough to be able to spend more time with my family and the experience is so precious! 🥰 I totally agree, joining the bookish community online has certain opened my eyes to so many diverse books… really glad you loved The Gilded Wolves, everyone has been raving about it despite a few mixed reviews! Ahh and congrats on the writing, it IS something to be really proud of 🙌, thank you for offering those beautiful snippets! Wishing you all the best on your 2021 goals! 💖💖

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      thank you so much, cherelle!! 🥺💖 ahh i hope you love the gilded wolves if you decide to pick it up! and thank you again, you’re too sweet 😭 hope you have a lovely 2021!

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Eleanor J. Avatar

    Absolutely loved this post Ash!! I wish you all the best with your goals, I know you’re going to do fabulously with them. Keep up the great work ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      thank you so much, eleanor!! 🥰🥰

      Like

  17. Lais @ The Bookish Skies Avatar

    the “don’t look at your phone first thing in the morning” is such a terrible habit i am also trying to break! when i was in school, i used to only check my phone when i was already having breakfast, but now it’s the first thing i do in the mornings. i also think spending less time in my phone in general would be a great goal, but the chances of me actually being able to do this are… slim, hahah.

    i think journaling is amazing! i also had journals back in 2018 and early 2019 when i was also caught up in making very pretty spreads, but i ended up taking so much time decorating them that i lost the motivation when it came to actually *writing* and doing the journaling part. once i started just writing down my thoughts without a care on how they look, i started journaling a lot more and it’s been such a great mindful activity! i encourage all the people i know to do the same!

    the snippets you share are amazing! (i’m in love with the 3rd one the most!) finding a writing project i was passionate about was also a highlight of mine this 2020 and i hope to carry it on for 2021.

    wishing you all the luck on your new year goals and an amazing 2021!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      ahhh i agree, it’s such a hard habit to break 😭😭 but good luck, we totally got it this year! and lmao same, i feel like i lost inspiration for journaling mainly because i pressured myself to make everything pretty and aesthetic instead of trying to just let my thoughts out. i’m so glad you got back into journaling, though! 💖

      and thank you so much, i’m so glad you liked them 🥺 i hope you’re able to continue working on your wip in 2021!! and i hope you have a beautiful new year as well 🥰

      Liked by 1 person

  18. Ruby (Ruby Reads and Reviews) Avatar

    Congrats on everything you accomplished in 2020! It definitely was a bad year, but I think a lot of us had more time to work on personal projects (like blogging, reading, writing, etc.) I also watched a lot of TV in 2020, but I also watched tons of movies too. My family has been keeping a list of all of the movies we’ve been watching since lockdown started and there are so many.

    I agree, interacting with others in the bookish community has made me read a lot more diverse books as well! I think it’s really amazing all of the books I’ve picked up because of recommendations of other people.

    Also- Picture Us In the Light was the first book I ever reviewed for my blog in the late spring of 2018, I’m so glad you enjoyed it!! My review has since been deleted because it was pretty bad quality, but I’m thinking of rereading the book sometime.

    Good luck in 2021!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      thank you so much, ruby!! and ah, i definitely agree! i’m so glad you’ve been able to watch many movies, what are some of your favorites?

      and yes, the bookish community is so amazing 🥺🥺 omg yesss you should definitely reread it soon – it was so good 😭 hope you have a great 2021!! 💖

      Like

  19. Morgan @ Morgan Is Reading Again Avatar

    These photos you shared are absolutely gorgeous! I love them! 😍
    I feel the same way about movies! I watch a lot of TV shows (The Good Place is so amazing) but I rarely sit down and watch a movie! Some films I’ve seen last year and loved were The Imitation Game and Emma!
    Ohh, I am also fond of Taylor Swift and Conan Gray!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      thank you so much!! 🥺🥺 and haha same, thank you for the recs! ahh yes taylor swift and conan are amazing 💕 hope you have a great new year!!

      Liked by 1 person

  20. reindeershermaine Avatar

    I thought I was the only one who perceived 2020 as both fast and slow! It’s great that you maintained grateful and felt privileged through it all, cheers to 2021!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      thank you so much!! hope you have a beautiful 2021 💖

      Like

  21. BernadetteMichael Avatar

    First of all I LOVE that photo with the super pink sky and the brown hills. Pictures like that make me so happy.

    And yes it’s sooo hard not to be critical of our own writing. There’s been plenty of times I’ve looked back at thing I’ve written with horror, but I always feel better knowing it’s just me reading it, and thankfully everything can be edited and CAN be better (ok maybe not everything. I have thrown things in the bin before)

    You have a youtube channe?! (somehow I missed it *check it out right away*)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      omg thank you so much, that means a lot 😭💖 and ahh yes, it’s definitely important to remember that you can always go back and edit things! aw i hope you enjoy my videos 🥺 happy new year!!

      Liked by 1 person

  22. ilsa Avatar

    ahh seeing your goals was so cool! movie recs: “love, rosie”, 10 things i hate about you, the perks of being a wallflower, little women and bridge to Terabithia are the first that come to mind!! i loveee atla so much!! who is your favourite character? mine is very predictably zuko but i love Sokka and all of the gaang so much 😀 also your writing is FANTASTIC and beautifu- i would love to read more of it!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      thank you, ilsa!! 🥺💕 i’ve seen the perks of being a wallflower, little women and bridge to terabithia and they were so good, i’ll have to check out 10 things i hate about you! yesss atla 😭 i honestly couldn’t choose because i love them all too haha! and AHH that means so much, thank you 💖💖 hope you have a great 2021!!

      Liked by 1 person

  23. 2020 Reading Recap // My Favorite (and Least Favorite) Books, Stats, and More – Starlight Strands Avatar

    […] As I talked about in my yearly recap, 2020 was the year that I joined the online book community, and it impacted me in so many ways, from reading more books that represented me to finding books that will be favorites for years to come! […]

    Like

  24. Sophie @ Me & Ink Avatar

    I’m really late to this post (sorry) so I’ll keep it brief but I loved hearing your overview of the year and your new goals. I really hope you are to get some arcs after requesting it from the publishers because you deserve it so much !! Best of luck with your writing (ahh… your snippets were honestly amazing, soooooo good) and blogging/youtube, I really love your content and I’m excited to see what you do next !! 💕 Best of luck with everything!!
    also I love your photography so much, it looks so professional and stunning !! 💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      ahh thank you so much, sophie!!! you’re the sweetest 😭😭💖💖 i love you so much and hope 2021 treats you well xx

      Liked by 1 person

  25. Nicole Evans Avatar

    Good luck with all of your goals this year, Ash! I hope 2021 is so much better than 2020 for all of us! (Also, be proud of how much you accomplished as a writer! When you wrote, “I know this is probably not a lot for most people, but I wrote a little over 10k words…” in your writing section, I just wanted to make sure you knew that you don’t have to compare yourself to what others do when celebrating yourself and your writing. Be proud of those strides!!)

    Like

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      thank you so much, i hope you have a wonderful 2021 as well!! 💖💖 and aah thank you for reminding me 🥺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Nicole Evans Avatar

        Thank you!! Coming from someone who downplayed her writing so much and always had to justify it compared to others, I definitely am speaking from experience! ❤ But you deserve to have that confidence in yourself and celebrate your achievements, without tainting it with the comparison game!

        Liked by 1 person

  26. Ruby Rae Reads Avatar

    Ah Ash, such a lovely post!! oof we can just all agree that 2020 sucked and though I can’t say 2021 is any better *cough* America *cough* BUT crossing fingers haha

    I love your goal of not looking at your phone. I for the first while had that bad habit, but at the very beginning of the year when I was going to uni classes I found I didn’t have that habit. I would have to get ready for class first thing and only get round to my phone in the afternoon. So hah pro-tip would be to do something else first thing, like for me shower or when I’m super into my book, I actually read. Oof and I also have movies on my 2021 goals, I watched quite a lot I think but I haven’t been watching all that many new ones and IM SO BEHIND. I watched a ton of new shows just not new movies whoops. Hope you get to go on walks btw, I def want to try to be more active this year also

    Also omg QUEEN 78 BOOKS IS AMAZING!!! yay for you!! And glad that you found some new faves friend xoxox I also have basically all of the same reading and writing goals. Mine challenge is set to 50 because I don’t want to set myself up for disappointment lmao. Hopefully, 2021 will be our year of steady progress?

    Love ya to the moon and back friend <3<3<3

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      i agree, 2020 did suck and 2021 hasn’t started off in the best way either 😭😭(*coughs with u* america) but i hope this year turns out to be much better! 💖 and ahh, thanks for the tip about not checking your phone!! i haven’t been doing too great on that goal so far, but i hope i can stop it for good lmao.

      and same haha, i hope we both are able to find amazing movies and stay more active this year!! 💕

      AHH THANK U SO MUCH 🥺🥰 and omg 50 books is a great goal!! wishing you a beautiful 2021, i hope you accomplish all your goals and find some amazing books!! love you more xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  27. sophie Avatar

    i can’t get over your photography skils ash T.T also i hope you have fun starting to annotate this year and with getting more into poetry writing!!! your prose is already so lovely so i’m sure your poetry is too! also that goal is kind of like an opposite of mine lol because i do kinda wanna practice my prose writing this year, though i’m kinda scared because i’m not used to prose writing at all o.o

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      thank you so much sophie, ily 😭😭😭 and ahh i hope ur able to get into prose writing!! 💖

      Liked by 1 person

      1. sophie Avatar

        yess i hope so too! i gotta make a solid plan for that tho so i can improve!

        Liked by 1 person

  28. Poulami @ Daydreaming Books Avatar

    Just discovered your blog and I am in love. ❤

    Like

  29. grigoriywlppro Avatar

    Certainly. It was and with me.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started