welcome: an ode to new beginnings (+ my May bullet journal spread)

hello, dear friends!

if you don’t know me from my old blog, i’m Ash: (she/her) writer + artist, amateur photographer, new youtuber, bookdragon, and lover of smiles, petrichor, sunset, literature, & the stars. if you’d like to learn more about me, click here.

today marks an ending and beginning: the end of my old blog, and the start of something new. i started blogging around a year ago, and it’s safe to say that I’ve changed a lot — as a writer, reader, photographer, artist, and so much more. i was welcomed in the best way to the blogiverse, and I really appreciate the journey i’ve been on.

i can’t wait to make more memories on this blog, and i’m so grateful to everyone who’s joining me! ❤

i was thinking of post ideas for today when i realized that it would be fun to talk about something new i’ve been loving lately: bullet journaling. i actually started a bullet journal back in 2018, but i rarely used it and ended up eventually neglecting it. however, my love for bullet journaling was rekindled about a month ago, as it’s a great way for me to express my creativity and stay productive!Header and Divider (1)

my May bullet journal spread…

(the title page of this setup is on the right of my journal.) i went for a flowery, purple theme for my May setup! for the title page, i drew a lightbulb with purple flowers coming from it, added some torn brown cardstock in the corners, wrote out a few quotes about flowers, lettered ‘may’ in cursive and drew in a purple a border to tie everything in.

to add the final flourishes, i added a few silver gem stickers and dried flower petals on the ‘lightbulb’ and in the bottom right corner!

note: i forgot to take pictures of all the materials i used, so here’s a list:

  • purple Crayola Supertips Marker
  • purple Tombow Dual Tip Brush Pen (shade 676)
  • black Pigma Micron pen (in 08 mm)
  • silver gem stickers
  • brown cardstock

this is my monthly calendar page! it took me a while to figure out the dimensions (i messed up at the bottom right corner of the left page haha), but i created a calendar with purple borders to keep the same theme.

after drawing in more purple flowers, gluing on the same cardstock in the corners again, writing flower quotes, and adding dried flower petals at the top, this spread was also complete!

this is the last page of the monthly spread (before we move on to the first week’s layout), and i decided to have fun with a habit tracker, reading list, and playlist. i’ve never tracked the music i listen to in my bullet journal before, so i’m really excited to fill out my playlist throughout the month!

these spreads were fairly easy to create, so i added a few borders, quotes, and flower doodles to add some flair.

and this is the first weekly spread! i went with something very minimal, so i would have a lot of space to plan out each and every day and just focus on getting things done. this is one thing that’s definitely helped me get back into bullet journaling: not getting so caught up in the ‘aesthetics of it and instead using it more as a daily planner.

another thing that has helped me is creating my own spread layouts (with some inspiration from Pinterest hehe). i used to follow a lot of plan with me video tutorials on youtube, but allowing myself to take creative freedom has helped me enjoy bullet journaling more.Header and Divider (1)that was it for my spread! i hope you enjoyed taking a peek at it and my creative process, and i’m so excited for this blog to begin!

Post Graphics

what new beginnings have you discovered recently? do you keep a bullet journal? thanks so much for reading this post and supporting me here! ❤

post signoff


80 responses to “welcome: an ode to new beginnings (+ my May bullet journal spread)”

  1. lrose5 Avatar

    Congratulations on your new move to WordPress! I don’t have a bullet journal. Yours is very pretty!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. ash @ starlight strands Avatar

      thanks!! ☺️💖

      Like

  2. BernadetteMichael Avatar

    Welcome to WordPress!! I LOVE the use of the dried flower petals in the journal. There’s something so comforting and about it, adding that bit of nature to it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      thank you SO much!!! 🥺🥺 wow, that really means a lot to me! and yes the flower petals were so fun and i love the touch of nature they added as well. ❤

      also, i am very sorry about responding to this so late, for some reason it went to my spam folder and WP doesn’t notify you of “spam” comments?? *facepalm* so sorry again!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. BernadetteMichael Avatar

        nooo the dreaded spam folder. It is annoying it doesn’t notify you and speaking of that … *goes and checks spam folder just in case*

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Germaine Han Avatar

    Girl your bullet journal is ABSOLUTE GOALS. I don’t have the patience to set everything out so artistically, but yours looks gorgeous and practical! Also I hope you’re receiving a toasty warm welcome to WordPress! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      ahhh THANK YOU!!! that’s so sweet of you i’m gonna cry! 😭😭 i definitely am, and it’s only thanks to all of you! 💖💖

      also, i am SO sorry about responding to this now, it went to my spam folder (for some reason ugh) and i just checked! *facepalm* so sorry again!!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Charis @ Charis Rae Avatar

    Welcome to WordPress, Ash! 🤍🤍 Casually drooling over your bullet journal here 🤩😱 I’m a minimalist, black-and-white bullet journal-er myself, so I just marvel at how pretty and colorful people make their journals.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      wow thank you ahhh!!!! 😊😭 your words mean so much, this made my day!! 💖

      also, i am very sorry about responding to this right now, it went to my spam folder for some reason (*facepalm*) and i just checked my spam folder! so sorry again!!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Sophie @ Me and Ink Avatar

    Ahhh… I love your WordPress blog and I’m excited to see the next steps in your journey as your blog and you are both so wonderful 💛💛 !!
    I’ve always been curious in bullet journaling as it looks so fun and aesthetic of course !! 😍 I also love making a good list !! Your set up it so coooll !! I love your writing and the designs you’ve made so much !! You are really talented !! And I love the idea of making a playlist section, soo amazing !!! ❤ Have a great May !!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      ahhh thank you so much Sophie ok i’m officially going to cry!!! 😭😭 you should definitely try bullet journaling if you’re into it, i think you would be amazing at it! 😉 and omg THANK YOU!!!!! it was so fun to create this spread and i’m glad you liked it! 💖💖

      i hope you had a lovely May, i am SO sorry about responding to this so late!! for some reason it your comment went to spam and i just checked that folder ugh!! *facepalm* so sorry again!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

        *whoops, i didn’t mean to write “it” in the second paragraph, it should just be “your comment went to spam” 🙈

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Sophie @ Me and Ink Avatar

          😭💕😭💕 ahh.. Thank you, hopefully I will one day 😊 it was wonderful 😍😍
          Thank you !! Aw.. it is completely fine, sometimes WordPress does that 😂💛

          Liked by 1 person

  6. Nicole Dust Avatar

    This May spread is GORGEOUS, Ash!! I especially like your playlist spread. *reminds myself to make one* Great post!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ash @ starlight strands Avatar

      thank you SO MUCH, Nicole!!! lol it was so fun to make the spread, i would love to see you do one too! thank you 😭💖❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Grace Marie Avatar

    HOW IS IT SO BEAUTIFUL?? Teach me your ways, this is so lovely, Ash! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    1. ash @ starlight strands Avatar

      ahhhhh THANK YOU!!! your comment just made my day!! 😭🥰🥰

      Like

  8. Evelyn Avatar

    Aaahhhh SO PRETTY. I really like your set up for your bullet journal this month.
    Also congrats on the move to WordPress. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ash @ starlight strands Avatar

      asdfghjkl 🥺 thank you so much, Evelyn!!! that’s so sweet of you! ❤️❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Carlye Krul Avatar

    Your bullet journal is ever so lovely! I can’t wait to see what new things you’ll post on your new blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ash @ starlight strands Avatar

      thank you so much, Carlye! that’s so sweet of you 😊💖

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Carlye Krul Avatar

        You are most welcome.

        Liked by 1 person

  10. May @ Forever and Everly Avatar

    welcome to wordpress, ash!! and happy late blogviersary 💕💕 all your spreads look so nice, especially your handlettering! i wish i could keep up with a bujo but i’m way too much of a perfectionist and i’d spend like 2 hours on each spread 😭 i’m glad that your love for bullet journaling has rekindled and i hope you have a great may!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ash @ starlight strands Avatar

      thank you SO much May!!! 🥺🥺 lol i’m definitely a perfectionist too, but not following a specific tutorial / inspo image has really helped me to embrace imperfections. thank you again, i hope you have a lovely May as well!!! ❤💖💖

      Liked by 1 person

  11. banditøjul | 10059793 Avatar

    Your first post on wp! Yee!
    Wow, I’m in love with the combination of your lovely lettering, dried petals, and purple. Definitely very may-ish ❤
    Let’s hope this may brings about a surge in new life and hope and light throughout the world ❤
    Power to the local dreamer ||-//

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ash @ starlight strands Avatar

      ahhhh!! thank you so much, i’m so happy you enjoyed the spreads!!! 😭😊 and yes, that is a beautiful way to put it… i’m wishing for the same. ❤❤❤

      Liked by 1 person

  12. infinitelyadaydreamer Avatar

    Your set up is gorgeous! I’m happy just looking at it x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ash @ starlight strands Avatar

      🥺🥺 thank you so much!!

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Emma @ AFCTL Avatar
    Emma @ AFCTL

    Your journal is so beautiful, Ash! I never did have the patience but I think I would like to follow some of your tips and try it some day 🙂
    Welcome to WordPress, amazing gal!
    – Emma 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ash @ starlight strands Avatar

      aww thank you so much, Emma!!! and you should definitely try it some day, i agree that i don’t have patience but once you get started it’s quite fun! thank youuu 🥺🥰💖

      Liked by 1 person

  14. El Avatar

    WELCOME TO WORDPRESSSSSSSS!! 🎉
    And oh my freaking god Ash – it’s gorgeous! I wish I had the dedication and skill to make a bullet journal 😂
    I promise to be a lot more active on your posts now since I won’t have to deal with glitchy comment sections now 😂💕💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      THANK YOUUUUU!!!! and omg thank you El STOP IT I’M ACTUALLY CRYING!!! 😭😭❤ that means so much to me, thank you again!!! also lol yes Blogger’s comment system was just… trash haha! 😅💖

      also, i’m SOOO sorry about responding to this like a month late, it went to spam for some awful reason and i just checked my spam folder… 😢 so sorry again!!

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Merie Shen Avatar

    I love your new blog! ❤ Welcome to the puzzling blogging world of WordPress xD

    Your bullet journal is beautiful. I honestly can't understand how people dO this bullet-journaling stuff– I'm still debating whether or not to join in! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ash @ starlight strands Avatar

      thank you so much, Merie!! ❤❤💖 (haha it is quite puzzzling but i’m glad to be here as well 😅) and aww, thank you! it is a bit daunting to think about starting a bullet journal, but i would definitely recommend it! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Cas @ Daydreaming Ink Avatar

    Omg this is such an awesome design!! Yes I do bullet journal 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ash @ starlight strands Avatar

      ahh thank you so much, Cas!!! ❤💖 and that’s so awesome 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  17. Bree Dawn Avatar

    So pretty. Can’t wait to see what you do with your new blog. <333

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ash @ starlight strands Avatar

      awww thank you so much, Bree!! 💖

      Liked by 1 person

  18. Aditi Avatar

    I’m excited that you moved- everything’s gorgeous and absolutely perfect Ash!! 💛 your bujo spread was amazing and totalky aesthetic- I can’t be nearly as aesthetic haha which is why I gave up on bullet journaling after my first try 😅

    Liked by 3 people

    1. ash @ starlight strands Avatar

      omg ahhh thank you!! 🥺🥺💖❤ thank you lolol, and don’t worry! doing whatever works for you makes it much more enjoyable, you should definitely try it again. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  19. Faith @ Pages Left Unread Avatar
    Faith @ Pages Left Unread

    um your blog and your bullet journal is so gorgeous? i love it sm and can’t wait to be reading your future posts 💖

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ash @ starlight strands Avatar

      um asdfghjkl THANK YOU, Faith!!! your comment made my day 🥺💖❤

      Liked by 1 person

  20. chloe @ marshmallow pudding Avatar

    omg ash! welcome to wordpress ❤ also i love how you incorporated dried flower petals into your bullet journal spread – it looks so nice!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ash @ starlight strands Avatar

      🤗 thank you so much!!! and aww, i’m so glad you liked it! 💖💖

      Like

  21. vaishnavi Avatar
    vaishnavi

    brooo your spread is absolutely gorgeous! i love using flower petals in my collages and pressing them in books, they just add that whimsical touch to any creation! also, i’m just gonna fangirl about photography for a sec but i also love the warm theme of all your photos, it’s sooo dreamy.. *especially* with the candles 🤗 the playlist idea is so cool, and i might give that a try (i just started a bullet journal)! it’s fun to mark time that has passed in songs you’ve listened to and then look back on them in the future, all the memories just come rushing back ~n o s t a l g i a~ i love these sort of posts, you should deffo post more of themm ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ash @ starlight strands Avatar

      thank you so much asdfghjkl! yes, pressing flower petals is so fun and the end result is always so whimsical! aww, that’s exactly the theme i was going for, so hearing you say that made me so happy!! 😭❤ and ahh that’s so exciting that you just started a bullet journal! i would looooooove to see it 🤩🤩 and i 1000% agree with what you said about nostalgia, that’s also one of the reasons i decided to come back to bullet journaling… aw THANK YOU, i’d love to post these more often 😊💖💖

      Liked by 1 person

  22. Marie Avatar

    AHH WELCOME TO WORDPRESS! I admire your bullet journal so, so, so much, it looks absolutely stunning, I wish I had the patience to do that too, I’m 🤩

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ash @ starlight strands Avatar

      THANK YOU!!!! oh my goodness, Marie, your comment made my day! thank you 😭💖💖

      Liked by 1 person

  23. Prutha Pimpalgaonkar Avatar
    Prutha Pimpalgaonkar

    That bullet journal is GORGEOUS!💜💜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ash @ starlight strands Avatar

      thank you SO MUCH!!! that means a lot 😀 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  24. juli Avatar

    I love your bullet journal! It’s so pretty 😍 and welcome to WordPress!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ash @ starlight strands Avatar

      ahhhh thank you so much, that’s so kind of you!! 😭💖

      Liked by 1 person

  25. Amber Avatar

    Ash this is beautiful! You spreads are just gorgeous 😻 I low how you have to do lists for your spreads as well, the thin that put me off bullet journaling was the fact that it all had to look perfect and it wasn’t really made for to do lists but I was so wrong! I think I may start my June spread and take my time so that I’m not stressed at the end of May, an hopefully that might motivate me to get into bullet journaling! 💗 Beautiful post and I hope your bog takes off 💕 Your YouTube channel is awesome by the way! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ash @ starlight strands Avatar

      thank you so much, Amber!! honestly, i used to think the same exact thing – i was so caught up in the aesthetics that i forgot the original purpose of keeping a bullet journal haha! aww, that sounds awesome – i hope you enjoy it. 😀 and THANK YOU!!! this comment totally made my day, i’m just gonna go cry now 😭😭💖💖

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Amber Avatar

        Of course Ash! 💕 Your blog is honestly wonderful 😊 Exactly! It’s good to know it’s not just me, I’ve found some bujo spreads now that seem to work a lot more which is great! Thank you so much 💖 Of course!! Your calligraphy and hand lettering skills are on point, and the videos were so satisfying to watch! And your voice is so calming to listen to aha! Aw 🥰

        Liked by 1 person

        1. ash @ starlight strands Avatar

          yay, i’m so happy you’ve found bujo spreads that work for you!! ❤ and awwww omg thank youuu!!! you have no idea how much that means to me 🥰🥰🥰

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Amber Avatar

            Me too!! 💓 Aw anytime 💕 Have a good day! 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

  26. Caitlin @ Caitlin Althea Avatar
    Caitlin @ Caitlin Althea

    congratulations on your new blog, Ash! It’s so pretty 🥺🥺 and so is your bullet journal!! I have so much respect for people who can maintain bullet journals, especially nice-looking ones, because whenever I make permanent marks, I almost always make a mistake 😅😅

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ash @ starlight strands Avatar

      thank you SO MUCH, Caitlin!! wow, that means so much to me! 🥺 and don’t worry, i make so many mistakes it’s not even funny hehe. 😆 thank you for reading 💖💖

      Liked by 1 person

  27. Kay | Hammock of Books Avatar

    This is so cute asoifjslf I aspire to be this aesthetic ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ash @ starlight strands Avatar

      asdfghjkl thank youuu!!! 😭💖💖

      Like

  28. It’s Lu Again Avatar

    your Bujo is GORGEOUS!! I’m on my second year of bullet journaling now (and it’s been helping my productivity loads too!!) hope you stick with it ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      ack THANK YOU so much, Lu!!! 😭💖 i’m so glad bullet journaling works for you!! i definitely think i’m going to keep it up for a while now as well. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s Lu Again Avatar

        That’s so nice to hear!!!! Aww thank you sm 🥰

        Liked by 1 person

  29. abigailblessing Avatar

    Ooh, your bullet journals are gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      thank you so much! 💖

      Like

  30. tasya @ the literary huntress Avatar

    I love this spread so much, it’s really charming ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      thank you so much! that’s so sweet of you!! 😭❤❤

      Like

  31. Lila Kims Avatar
    Lila Kims

    Time for an Ash blog post catch-up binge. XD I LOVE YOUR BULLET JOURNAL!!! So aesthetic ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      😂 haha thank you SO MUCH AHHH!!! that means so much to me 💖💖

      Like

  32. Sara @ Words With Wings Avatar

    this is an absurdly late comments but girlll i am ~fangirling~ over your bullet journal spread! it’s gorgeous! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      asdfghjkl THANK YOU so much!!! 😭💖

      Like

  33. Charlotte Avatar

    This is kind of late, especially as I’ve commented on your other posts already, but welcome to WordPress (: and your bullet journal looks amazing. I love the lightbulb image 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      haha no worries! and thank you SO much ahhh!! 🥺🥺❤

      Liked by 1 person

  34. Jane @ 365 Novel Nights Avatar
    Jane @ 365 Novel Nights

    Ash, your bullet journal is so pretty!! I am inspired to start one too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      ahh thank you so much, jane!! ❤❤

      Like

  35. wardah Avatar
    wardah

    As a fellow bullet journaller, I just want to say, your spreads are beautiful!! So aesthetic!
    Funny story – I found your Youtube channel first, then this blog! So glad I came across it, it’s beautiful hidden treasure! Keep up what you’re doing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ash @ Starlight Strands Avatar

      ahhh, thank you so so much, that means the world to me!! 🥺🥺😭💖 i’m so happy you decided to stop by!! 🥰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. wardah Avatar
        wardah

        You’re welcome!! 😊♥

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started